Reclaiming Honor (The Way of Legend, Book 1) Preview!!

Hey Everyone!!

I’ve got a preview for you that I am sooo stoked about!!! You guys know that I love, well, anything that Quincy J. Allen puts out. Y’all, he’s teamed up with Marc Edelheit (author of Stigers Tigers and the Karus Saga) and this collab looks amazing!!

The dwarven nations are facing extermination. Their ancient enemy has returned. The Horde is coming and, along with it, a dark tide is spreading across the world of Tanis. One by one, the free peoples of the world have fallen under a shadow, crushed by the merciless boot of the Horde.

The Syrulian Empire, the last buffer state between three dwarven nations and the advancing armies of the Horde, has fallen. Vastly outnumbered, the dwarves must undertake the Great March, uprooting their entire civilization in search of a new homeland. They hope to find a safe harbor beyond the reach of the enemy, for the nations are not strong enough to withstand the might of the Horde.

Every sword is needed.

Does that not sound phenomenal? I can’t wait to read this! I’ll let you know my thoughts as soon as I do!!

It releases 10/28 in all formats.

Blood Oath (Blood War Chronicles, Book 3) Release!!!

Hi all!!

Blood Oath, Book 3 in The Blood War Chronicles, by the amazing Quincy J. Allen is live!!! This cover is amazing and, if I may say so, what’s inside is even better!!

I read it while I was away this weekend, and will have the review up for you lovely folks in the next day or so! In the meantime, the buy link is below.

https://www.amazon.com/Blood-Oath-Steampunk-Adventure-Chronicles-ebook/dp/B07NVTR6WY/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1551043968&sr=8-3&keywords=blood+oath+allen

Go! Read! Enjoy!!

Always,

-T

Deal on my fave Quincy J. Allen book: Chemical Burn!!

Hey guys!!

I’m sure that you all remember my raving about Chemical Burn when I first read it back in August of 2015 (and for the rest of 2015, because it’s awesome!).

{here’s the link, if you missed it: https://thenovelgirlreads.com/2015/08/05/chemical-burn-justin-case-book-1}

Mr. Allen announced today that he has a deal going on it now! KU users, you can get it free! Everyone else, there’s been a price drop to $3.99! (I’m pretty sure that I also heard rumor of the sequel that I’ve been dying for being worked on, so…). Go, buy, read!!

Always,

-T

http://bit.ly/ChemicalBurn

2016 Wrap-Up!! Best of….

As we say goodbye to 2016, and usher in 2017, I can honestly say that it has been a good year in the book world! We have had some amazing books published this year, and some awesome new authors have emerged. We have also suffered some great losses. It was a wonderful reading year for me, personally, as well. I think that I read more this year that I ever have in a single year before, and I was introduced to some wonderful new authors that I look forward to reading much more from in the future.

I have taken the majority of this week to try and determine what was actually my best of this year, and I had a very difficult time with it! I had to break it down in to categories, because I wasn’t able to pick just one!

Here goes!!!

Favorite Overall Read of the Year: There was a tie in this category!

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

An Ember in the Ashes cover

Blood Curse by Quincy J. Allen

img_5557

Favorite Thriller of the Year: In A Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware

in-a-dark-dark-wood-cover

Favorite YA of the Year: Looking for Alaska by John Green

Looking for Alaska cover

Favorite New Author of the Year: J.D. Spikes

the-possession-cover

I’m looking forward to an awesome new year with all of you!! I hope you all have a wonderful new year!! As always, thanks for reading!!

-T

 

Penny Dread Tales Vol. 1: Gears, Coils, Aether & Steam

penny-dread-tales-1-cover

Edited by: Christopher Ficco

Genre: Steampunk/Sci-Fi

Publisher: RuneWright LLC

Pages: 390

 

Penny Dread Tales is a nod to the 19th and early 20th Century publication format known as Penny Dreadful, which is what this wonderful Steampunk short story anthology is dedicated to. In the vein of Jules Verne and Mary Shelley, these wonderfully written and beautifully imagined stories will make your mind wander to its far reaches, and really contemplate “what might have been” or “what could be”. At the time of its publication, many of the authors whom contributed to this anthology were publishing for the first time. This is a fact that was not lost on me, but one that I never would have gleaned from their brilliant writing, had I not known this ahead of time. I know that it will come as no surprise to any of you, my dear readers, that my favorite story of the anthology came at the hands of the one and only Quincy J. Allen- Lasater’s Lucky Left. It was engaging and brilliant, with amazingly fleshed out characters, as always. There are many, many amazing stories in this anthology, but if I had to pick a second favorite, I think that would be Iron Angel by Cayleigh Hickey. If you have any interest at all in Steampunk, I think that you would really enjoy this anthology!

*This is one of the reviews that I mentioned did not post originally due to computer issues, so my apologies to the authors for the belated review. -T

Blood Curse (Blood War Cronicles, Book 2)

img_5557

Author: Quincy J. Allen

Series: Blood War Chronicles

Genre: Steampunk/Fantasy

Publisher: WordFire Press

Pages: 254

 

So, obviously this starts where Blood Ties left off (if you haven’t read it, what are you waiting for?!). Jake and the gang made it back to San Francisco, where they have a huge battle in Chinatown. Now he is trying to get back to Denver with his package. This is going to be no easy trip, though, as he and the package are still being hunted down. As they are on their way, the airship gets shot down, and they make way to a new (pretty fantastic- well done Mr. Allen, well done!) place. Another battle breaks out- enter Pandora Celtica, a new and incredible character with some fabulous attributes to bring to the table. I can’t tell you more, as it would ruin all of the fun for you!!

I am so excited to be able to finally share this new installment! It was just as, if not more, awesome than the first. The characters that I loved from the first installment were just as amazing, and those strong female characters that I mentioned before were just as strong in this book. The new characters (whom I think that you will absolutely love!) were all as well developed as the returning cast. This book was filled with a ton of great action and wonderful battles, as well as some more sobering moments (Jake’s flashback from the army hospital comes to mind) that only stand to deepen your love for these characters. As with the first, I pretty much read this though in one sitting. The storytelling here is superb! If you love steampunk (or just want to try it for the first time!) and great storytelling, I highly recommend this series!

It’s out now, so pick it up!!

https://www.amazon.com/Blood-Curse-Book-War-Chronicles-ebook/dp/B01GGDLX64/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1466606945&sr=1-1&keywords=blood+curse+quincy+allen

Out Through the Attic

out through the attic cover

Author: Quincy J. Allen

Genre: Cross-Genre

Publisher: 7DS Books/Twisted Core Press

Pages: 248

 

I know that you guys have heard me say this before, but I will say it again: Short stories are my favorite thing to read! With this being a short story collection, and the author being Quincy J. Allen (who’s writing you’ll know, by know, I have a bit of an infatuation with!), I had really high expectations for this book. It did not disappoint in any way! These stories took me in multiple different directions, from reimagined history, to steampunk, to sci-fi, to horror…It has something for everyone and every mood. Since they are short stories, I won’t go too much in to the stories, or I will give them away, but I will tell you my favorites. The very first story, Family Heirloom, was a reimagined history where a brilliant slave engineer helped free slaves in an underwater ship. Cornelius was amazing! An ex-movie star dwarf (yes like the seven dwarves) telling his story of how he hit rock bottom and is now on the Queen’s hit list. Of course, I loved Lasater’s Lucky Left, as it was a lead in to Allen’s steampunk/western that I previously reviewed, Blood Ties. My other love in this collection was Baby Wei, wherein a scientist who lost her own child to SIDS goes to Atlanta to help in a SIDS project, which turns in to a crazy plot twist! These were just my favorites, but there was not one story in this collection that I did not like. I didn’t want to stop reading, and I was sad when it was over. Maybe that will hold me until Mr. Allen’s next book comes out this year, though! If you like your fiction in the genre category, you’ll love this. Pick up a copy!!