Deal on my fave Quincy J. Allen book: Chemical Burn!!

Hey guys!!

I’m sure that you all remember my raving about Chemical Burn when I first read it back in August of 2015 (and for the rest of 2015, because it’s awesome!).

{here’s the link, if you missed it: https://thenovelgirlreads.com/2015/08/05/chemical-burn-justin-case-book-1}

Mr. Allen announced today that he has a deal going on it now! KU users, you can get it free! Everyone else, there’s been a price drop to $3.99! (I’m pretty sure that I also heard rumor of the sequel that I’ve been dying for being worked on, so…). Go, buy, read!!

Always,

-T

http://bit.ly/ChemicalBurn

Advertisements

2016 Wrap-Up!! Best of….

As we say goodbye to 2016, and usher in 2017, I can honestly say that it has been a good year in the book world! We have had some amazing books published this year, and some awesome new authors have emerged. We have also suffered some great losses. It was a wonderful reading year for me, personally, as well. I think that I read more this year that I ever have in a single year before, and I was introduced to some wonderful new authors that I look forward to reading much more from in the future.

I have taken the majority of this week to try and determine what was actually my best of this year, and I had a very difficult time with it! I had to break it down in to categories, because I wasn’t able to pick just one!

Here goes!!!

Favorite Overall Read of the Year: There was a tie in this category!

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

An Ember in the Ashes cover

Blood Curse by Quincy J. Allen

img_5557

Favorite Thriller of the Year: In A Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware

in-a-dark-dark-wood-cover

Favorite YA of the Year: Looking for Alaska by John Green

Looking for Alaska cover

Favorite New Author of the Year: J.D. Spikes

the-possession-cover

I’m looking forward to an awesome new year with all of you!! I hope you all have a wonderful new year!! As always, thanks for reading!!

-T

 

Penny Dread Tales Vol. 1: Gears, Coils, Aether & Steam

penny-dread-tales-1-cover

Edited by: Christopher Ficco

Genre: Steampunk/Sci-Fi

Publisher: RuneWright LLC

Pages: 390

 

Penny Dread Tales is a nod to the 19th and early 20th Century publication format known as Penny Dreadful, which is what this wonderful Steampunk short story anthology is dedicated to. In the vein of Jules Verne and Mary Shelley, these wonderfully written and beautifully imagined stories will make your mind wander to its far reaches, and really contemplate “what might have been” or “what could be”. At the time of its publication, many of the authors whom contributed to this anthology were publishing for the first time. This is a fact that was not lost on me, but one that I never would have gleaned from their brilliant writing, had I not known this ahead of time. I know that it will come as no surprise to any of you, my dear readers, that my favorite story of the anthology came at the hands of the one and only Quincy J. Allen- Lasater’s Lucky Left. It was engaging and brilliant, with amazingly fleshed out characters, as always. There are many, many amazing stories in this anthology, but if I had to pick a second favorite, I think that would be Iron Angel by Cayleigh Hickey. If you have any interest at all in Steampunk, I think that you would really enjoy this anthology!

*This is one of the reviews that I mentioned did not post originally due to computer issues, so my apologies to the authors for the belated review. -T

Blood Curse (Blood War Cronicles, Book 2)

img_5557

Author: Quincy J. Allen

Series: Blood War Chronicles

Genre: Steampunk/Fantasy

Publisher: WordFire Press

Pages: 254

 

So, obviously this starts where Blood Ties left off (if you haven’t read it, what are you waiting for?!). Jake and the gang made it back to San Francisco, where they have a huge battle in Chinatown. Now he is trying to get back to Denver with his package. This is going to be no easy trip, though, as he and the package are still being hunted down. As they are on their way, the airship gets shot down, and they make way to a new (pretty fantastic- well done Mr. Allen, well done!) place. Another battle breaks out- enter Pandora Celtica, a new and incredible character with some fabulous attributes to bring to the table. I can’t tell you more, as it would ruin all of the fun for you!!

I am so excited to be able to finally share this new installment! It was just as, if not more, awesome than the first. The characters that I loved from the first installment were just as amazing, and those strong female characters that I mentioned before were just as strong in this book. The new characters (whom I think that you will absolutely love!) were all as well developed as the returning cast. This book was filled with a ton of great action and wonderful battles, as well as some more sobering moments (Jake’s flashback from the army hospital comes to mind) that only stand to deepen your love for these characters. As with the first, I pretty much read this though in one sitting. The storytelling here is superb! If you love steampunk (or just want to try it for the first time!) and great storytelling, I highly recommend this series!

It’s out now, so pick it up!!

https://www.amazon.com/Blood-Curse-Book-War-Chronicles-ebook/dp/B01GGDLX64/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1466606945&sr=1-1&keywords=blood+curse+quincy+allen

Out Through the Attic

out through the attic cover

Author: Quincy J. Allen

Genre: Cross-Genre

Publisher: 7DS Books/Twisted Core Press

Pages: 248

 

I know that you guys have heard me say this before, but I will say it again: Short stories are my favorite thing to read! With this being a short story collection, and the author being Quincy J. Allen (who’s writing you’ll know, by know, I have a bit of an infatuation with!), I had really high expectations for this book. It did not disappoint in any way! These stories took me in multiple different directions, from reimagined history, to steampunk, to sci-fi, to horror…It has something for everyone and every mood. Since they are short stories, I won’t go too much in to the stories, or I will give them away, but I will tell you my favorites. The very first story, Family Heirloom, was a reimagined history where a brilliant slave engineer helped free slaves in an underwater ship. Cornelius was amazing! An ex-movie star dwarf (yes like the seven dwarves) telling his story of how he hit rock bottom and is now on the Queen’s hit list. Of course, I loved Lasater’s Lucky Left, as it was a lead in to Allen’s steampunk/western that I previously reviewed, Blood Ties. My other love in this collection was Baby Wei, wherein a scientist who lost her own child to SIDS goes to Atlanta to help in a SIDS project, which turns in to a crazy plot twist! These were just my favorites, but there was not one story in this collection that I did not like. I didn’t want to stop reading, and I was sad when it was over. Maybe that will hold me until Mr. Allen’s next book comes out this year, though! If you like your fiction in the genre category, you’ll love this. Pick up a copy!!

Start of 2016

Hello everyone!

I hope that the new year is treating you all well,  so far! It has been super busy for me, already, as things have started off with a bang at work this year. I have taken the first little bit of this year to try and map out my reading goals and what I hope to get accomplished this year. It is quite a bit more than what I set for myself last year, but I hope that I will be able to get it done. You guys all keep me motivated to keep going, and sharing my thoughts, so thank you for that!

There are several series that I am hoping to get through this year, that I have been putting off. Some of them are ones that have been out, and popular, for some time and I just haven’t gotten around to them yet, and some you may not have even heard of. I hope that you won’t mind journeying with me through these series. There will be some stand alones in there to break them  up, though, so don’t fret! I will also be re-reading some of my favorites, which I do every year. Some of those I will share with you, and some I may not, as they have been reviewed to death (like Harry Potter). There will be a lot of Sci-Fi, Fantasy, & YA this year, as that seems to be where the reading list is headed, but there is quite a bit of Stephen King and some Joe Hill on there, as well. Quincy J. Allan has promised some new books this year & and I’m pretty sure that Jordan K. Rose will have something new out, so I’m very excited about that! A little birdy also told me that Jamie Lee Scott has some new reads coming out, so I can’t wait to see what those will entail!

My intent is to post every Wednesday and Saturday (and some in between, as needed), whether that be just an update or an actual review. I look forward to this year with you guys, and hope you all have a wonderful year!!! As always, thanks for reading!

-T

Goodbye 2015!

Hi Everyone!

I can’t believe that it is already the last day of 2015! It seems that this year has passed by so quickly. It was a very busy and exciting year for me. It has also been a year filled with some amazing reading! I had a little bit of a tough time deciding what my best book of the year was, but I just kept going back to a book that was sent to me to review in May. I happened upon a post asking for reviewers when I very first started my blog, and I decided to give this author a try on a whim: I am incredibly thankful that I did! Not only is the first of two books that I have reviewed for him this year my favorite book of the year, he is my favorite new author of the year:

Chemical Burn by Quincy J. Allen

chemical burn

This novel is a Sci-Fi Thriller, and it is awesome! I still think about it, and I am really hoping for more in this series! Mr. Allen is a cross-genre author, and he does it flawlessly. His other novel, Blood Ties (you can find my full initial reviews for both of these on the blog) is a steampunk/western. It never seems forced when he crosses the genre barriers, the words and stories flow beautifully. I cannot wait to read more from this author. If you like sci-fi, you really should check this novel out. I hope that you will fall in love with his writing, as I have.

Thank you all, again, for indulging me and keeping me going on this blog. I hope that you all have a wonderful and safe New Year’s Eve!! As always, thanks for reading.

-T