Penny Dread Tales Vol. 1: Gears, Coils, Aether & Steam

penny-dread-tales-1-cover

Edited by: Christopher Ficco

Genre: Steampunk/Sci-Fi

Publisher: RuneWright LLC

Pages: 390

 

Penny Dread Tales is a nod to the 19th and early 20th Century publication format known as Penny Dreadful, which is what this wonderful Steampunk short story anthology is dedicated to. In the vein of Jules Verne and Mary Shelley, these wonderfully written and beautifully imagined stories will make your mind wander to its far reaches, and really contemplate “what might have been” or “what could be”. At the time of its publication, many of the authors whom contributed to this anthology were publishing for the first time. This is a fact that was not lost on me, but one that I never would have gleaned from their brilliant writing, had I not known this ahead of time. I know that it will come as no surprise to any of you, my dear readers, that my favorite story of the anthology came at the hands of the one and only Quincy J. Allen- Lasater’s Lucky Left. It was engaging and brilliant, with amazingly fleshed out characters, as always. There are many, many amazing stories in this anthology, but if I had to pick a second favorite, I think that would be Iron Angel by Cayleigh Hickey. If you have any interest at all in Steampunk, I think that you would really enjoy this anthology!

*This is one of the reviews that I mentioned did not post originally due to computer issues, so my apologies to the authors for the belated review. -T

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s